You are here:

Dr. Steven Dudek

Dr. Dudek(Pictured, left: Dr. Steven Dudek, Chief, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep & Allergy and Associate Professor of Medicine)

Dear Colleagues:

It is my pleasure to announce that Dr. Steven Dudek has accepted the position of chief of the Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep, and Allergy. I am thrilled that he has accepted the position and look forward to working with him to advance the clinical, investigative, educational, and service missions of the division.

Dr. Dudek received his medical degree from Washington University in St. Louis and completed residency and pulmonary/critical care medicine fellowship at Johns Hopkins University. He was assistant professor of medicine at University of Chicago from 2005-2010, and came to UIC as associate professor in 2010. Since 2012 he has been co-director of the medical intensive care unit at UIHHSS. At UIC he has been named “Teaching Attending of the Year” by his division and is a two-time recipient of the Certificate of Teaching Excellence awarded by the UIC internal medicine residents.

A nationally and internationally recognized expert in acute lung injury, Dr. Dudek collaborates with many UIC investigators on projects related to pulmonary endothelial permeability and genetic markers for lung disease. Dr. Dudek is a member of the American Thoracic Society (ATS) and American College of Chest Physicians (ACCP). He is an active member of the ATS Pulmonary Circulation Assembly, serving as the editor of the assembly’s web-based journal club and member of the Program Planning Committee. Dr. Dudek has received Central Society for Clinical Research Physician Scientist Award, NIH Loan Repayment Grant, and was selected to attend the ACCP Faculty Leadership Development Program. He is a member of the editorial advisory board for Translation Research, Pulmonary Circulation, and American Journal of Physiology Lung Cellular and Molecular Physiology.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Dudek!

Patricia W. Finn, MD
Professor and Chair
Department of Medicine
University of Illinois at Chicago