Leadership, Committees, Work Groups

The strategic planning process is overseen by a Steering Committee, an Operations Committee, and seven Work Groups. Also important to the process is our broader community, which will have the opportunity to share their input and recommendations.

The Steering Committee consists of senior-level leaders that will have decision-making authority throughout the process.  The Steering Committee provides leadership oversight on the vision and direction of the engagement, confirm and endorse strategic recommendations and initiatives while conferring with UI Health and other partners,  leaders, and university  leadership on UI  COM’s strategic direction. This committee meets approximately every six to eight weeks.

The Operations Committee provides continuous review of findings and ensures process of engagement keeps the tri-partite aim of UICOM intact. This committee will recommend adoption of the final strategy to relevant stakeholders and the Executive Committee.

Operations Committee Chart

The Work Groups will be assigned to address specific strategic questions and topics. Each group will have a clear charge and will formulate recommendations to be reviewed by the Executive and Operations Committees. Groups will meet as often as needed during March, April and potentially May. Work groups are encouraged to reach out to their constituencies for input and broad views.

Work Group Chart

Work Groups

*Denotes work group chair

To provide feedback to specific work groups, please contact the chairs of the respective work groups.

Beth Wrona Murphy*Senior Director of Special Projects
Tom WyattDirector of Marketing
Leila Amiri, PhDDirector of Admissions
William Walden, PhDAssociate Dean for Faculty Affairs
Jeff Jacobson MDProfessor of Medicine
Sara Rusch, MD | Meenakshy Aiyer, MDRegional Dean, Peoria | Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Pauline Maki, PhDSr. Director of Research, Center for Research on Women and Gender
Carrie HermansonDirector of Marketing, Public Relations & Business Development, Rockford
Raymond Curry, MD*Senior Associate Dean for Educational Affairs
Olga Garcia-Bedoya, MDAssociate Professor of Medicine
Meenakshy Aiyer, MDAssociate Dean for Academic Affairs
Alex Auseon, DOAssociate Professor of Medicine
Mitchell King, MDAssociate Dean for Academic Affairs, Rockford
Kelvin Wynn, MDThomas and Ellen Foster Endowed Chair, Peoria
Henry Dove, MDAssociate Dean for Graduate Medical Education
Bellur Prabhakar, PhD*Associate Dean, Technological Innovation & Training
Ron Gaba, MDAssociate Professor of Radiology
Marcelo Bento Soares, PhDSenior Associate Dean for Research; Professor and CBP Department Head, Peoria
Jan Kitajewski, PhDHead, Department of Physiology & Biophysics
Richard Minshall, PhDProfessor of Medicine, Anesthesiology and Pharmacology
Lea SmuckerDir. of Admin. Operations, Anatomy and Cell Biology
Martha Daviglus, MD, PhDProfessor of Medicine, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
Gail Prins, PhDProfessor of Urology and Physiology; Director, University Andrology Laboratory
Geri Donenberg, PhDProfessor of Medicine and Psychology, Director, Center for Dissemination and Implementation Sci., Dir., Healthy Youths Program
Ramaswamy Kalyanasundaram, PhDProfessor & Head, Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Illinois College of Medicine Rockford
Jalees Rehman, MDDirector of Research, Division of Cardiology, Professor of Medicine, Pharmacology and Bioengineering
Subhash C. Pandey, PhDProfessor & Director, Alcohol Research Center, Department of Psychiatry
Peyton Bohnsack, PhDPostdoctoral Fellow, Department of Psychiatry
James HopkinsGraduate Student, Ocular Virology Lab
Kathleen Kashima, PhD*Senior Associate Dean of Students
Michele Marsicalco, MDAssistant Vice Chancellor, Health Sciences Student Affairs, Chicago
Julie MannDirector, Program Administration, MSTP, Chicago
Gloria Elam, MDAssociate Dean of Diversity and Inclusion, Chicago
Terri Blevins, EdDAssistant Dean, Student Affairs & Academic Progress, Rockford
Tim Bruce, PhDProfessor and Associate Chair, Psychiatry Clerkship Director, Peoria
Trevonne Thompson, MDAssistant Dean of Residency Preparedness, Chicago
Mrinalini Rao, PhDProfessor, Department of Physiology & Biophysics
Olivia LanserM3 student, Chicago
Saagar PalumapatiM2 student, Rockford
Alex TangM3 student, Peoria
Carlos DostalMD/PhD student, Urbana/td>
Tara McCrayPhD student, Chicago
Joshua AmesPhD student, Chicago
Jenny BakerResearch Associate
Charles Ray, MD, PhDHead, Department of Radiology
Patricia Finn, MDAssociate Dean for College Strategic Initiatives
Rhea Begeman, RNDirector of Administration, Emergency Medicine
Marci FantiDirector of Human Resources
Barry Wenig, MD, PhDProfessor and Director of the Head & Neck Cancer Surgery Center
Gillian CoombsDirector, Office of Faculty Affairs
Daniela NitaDirector of Administrative Operations, Cardiology, Chicago
Janet Jokela, MDRegional Dean, Urbana
Sara Smith, MDAsst. Professor, Clinical Medicine, Chicago
Michael Fischer, MDAssoc. Professor, Medicine, Chicago
Meenakshy Aiyer, MDAssociate Dean for Academic Affairs, Peoria
Carol Schuster, MDAssistant Dean of Operations, Rockford/td>
Lisa Marie StiggerExecutive Assistant to the Chair and Vice Chair of Medicine
Brett RuizDirector of HR, Rockford
Patrick Tranmer, MD*Executive Director of Medical Service Plan
Frank Goldberg, PhDChief Business Officer of Medical Services Plan
Heather Prendergast, MDAssociate Head for Academic Affairs
Lisa LenzPresident, Wolcott, Wood and Taylor, Inc.
George KondosProfessor and Vice Head of Medicine
Travis RomagnoliDirector of Administrative Ops., Dept. of Surgery
Anand Kumar, MDDepartment Head, Psychiatry
Rhea Begeman, RNDirector of Administration, Emergency Medicine
James Bui, MDAssociate Professor of Radiology, Chief of Vascular and Interventional Radiology
Rachel Caskey, MDChief of the Division of Academic Internal Medicine
Mary Lou Schmidt, MDProfessor of Pediatrics, Division Chief of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
Todd Van Neck*Associate Dean for Administration
Kunal VoraDirector, Administrative Operations
Alex Stagnaro-Green, MD, MHPE, MHARegional Dean, Rockford
Eric DubrowskiExecutive Director for Fiscal Affairs, Peoria
Ben Van Voorhees, MDDepartment Head, Pediatrics
Angela Tyner, PhDProfessor, Dept of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
Eliot RapoportRising M2 student based in Peoria