Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Faculty Honored During Annual Ceremony

Dean Rosenblatt at the award ceremony

The University of Illinois College of Medicine celebrated its faculty Wednesday, Nov. 16, in the Faculty Alumni Lounge during the 2022 Faculty Recognition Ceremony.

College Awards, UIC Faculty Awards, Chicago Departmental Rising Star and Faculty of the Year recipients were honored, with Executive Dean Mark Rosenblatt, MD, PhD, MBA, MHA, and Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs Pauline Maki, PhD, serving as co-emcees and presenters.

“You represent excellence, dedication, creativity, and compassion,” Dean Rosenblatt said. “You all represent the very best in your field.”

Rising Star Award Recipients Heading link

  • Alejandra Perez-Tamayo, MD, Surgery
  • Alexis Braverman, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Andrea Pappalardo, MD, Pediatrics
  • Beatriz Penalver Bernabe, PhD, Biomedical Engineering
  • Carlos Murga-Zamalloa, MD, Pathology
  • Christian Peters, PhD, Anatomy and Cell Biology
  • Emily Hall, MD, Family and Community Medicine
  • Jared Davis, MD, Neurology and Rehabilitation
  • Jeffrey Cheung, PhD, Medical Education
  • Ji Yeon Kim, PhD, Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
  • John Zulueta, MD, Psychiatry
  • Judith Behnsen, PhD, Microbiology and Immunology
  • Lisa Adiutori, DO, Anesthesiology
  • Matthew Niemeyer, MD, Radiology
  • Omer Acar, MD, Urology
  • Pingwen Xu, PhD, Medicine
  • Robert Hyde, MD, PhD, Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
  • Roger Haber, MD, Dermotology
  • Sang Ging Ong, PhD, Pharmacology and Regenerative Medicine
  • Shana Ross, DO, Emergency Medicine
  • Victoria Lee, MD, Otolaryngology
  • Yuwei Jiang, PhD, Physiology and Biophysics

Faculty of the Year Award Recipients Heading link

  • Andrius Kazlauskas, PhD, Physiology and Biophysics
  • Anna Katharina Beckmann, MD, Anesthesiology
  • Brian Boulay, MD, Medicine
  • Donald Vander Griend, PhD, Pathology
  • Jason McAnany, PhD, Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
  • Jennifer Duffecy, PhD, Pyschiatry
  • Karen Hayani, MD, Pediatrics
  • Laura Hirshfield, PhD, Medical Education
  • Lauren Smith, MD, Emergency Medicine
  • Leon Tai, PhD, Anatomy and Cell Biology
  • Michael Caffrey, PhD, Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
  • Nitu Saran, DO, Radiology
  • Paul Storrs, MD, Dermatology
  • Pravin Patel, MD, Surgery
  • Sagina Hanjrah, MD, Family and Community Medicine
  • Simone Crivellaro, MD, Urology
  • Yang Dai, PhD, Biomedical Engineering

UICOM Award Recipients Heading link

  • David Schwartz, MD, Dean’s Award for Excellence in Healthcare Leadership
  • Geraldine Fox, MD, MHPE, Dean’s Distinguished Service Award
  • Heather Prendergast, MD, MS, MPH, Dean’s Award for Excellence in Healthcare Leadership
  • Janet Jokela, MD, MPH, Dean’s Distinguished Service Award
  • Pauline Maki, PhD, Faculty of the Year

UIC Award Recipients Heading link

  • Jennifer Lim, MD, Distinguished Professor
  • Judith Cook, PhD, University Scholar
  • Memoona Hasnain, MD, MHPE, PhD, Excellence in Teaching
  • Orly Lazarov, PhD, University Scholar
  • Pavan Srivastava, MD, Teaching Recognition

View Photos of the Ceremony