Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

2021 College of Medicine Research Forum Results

Students with white coat walking down the hall

This year, we were pleased to include our colleagues from Peoria and Rockford both as participants and as judges. Over 249 posters were submitted, which is a new high for this event.

Congratulations and thank you to all who participated, and a special thanks to the judges whose efforts once again were essential to the success of the event.

The winners are:

Medical Student Category

  • Gold Medal honors: Julia May (Dermatology)
  • Silver Medal honors (tie): Dominick Martinico (Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics)
  • Silver Medal honors (tie): Sam Jiang (Orthopaedics)
  • Honorable Mention: Claire Larkin (Medicine)
  • Honorable Mention: Andrea Ohk (Bioengineering)
  • Honorable Mention: Maria Valle Coto (Medical Education)

Graduate, MD-PhD, and Other Combined degree students Category

  • Gold Medal honors: Anna Di Staulo (Pharmacology)
  • Silver Medal honors: Tanner Roach (Physiology and Biophysics)
  • Honorable Mention: Cody Justice (Emergency Medicine)
  • Honorable Mention: Daniel Principe (Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics)
  • Honorable Mention: David Gong (Bioengineering)

Postdoctoral Fellows and Residents Category

  • Gold Medal honors: Carolina Battistini (Medicine)
  • Silver Medal honors: Sreeparna Chakraborty (Pharmacology)
  • Honorable Mention: Amanda Knepper (Pediatrics)
  • Honorable Mention: Jeffrey Schappi (Physiology and Biophysics)
  • Honorable Mention: Eleonora Gatta (Psychiatry)
  • Honorable Mention: Sivareddy Challa (Pharmacology - Peoria)

Research Assistant Professors and Scientific Staff Category

  • Gold Medal honors: Ismihan Uddin (Medicine/Endocrinology)
  • Silver Medal honors (tie): Margaret Starr (Psychiatry)
  • Silver Medal honors (tie): Yongchao Mou (Biomedical Sciences, Rockford)
  • Honorable Mention: Skylar Grimsley (Pharmacology)
  • Honorable Mention: Eilidh O’Brien (Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics)
  • Honorable Mention: Pavitra Kotini-Shah (Emergency Medicine)


  • Gold Medal Honors: Tara Cruise (Psychiatry – Research Associate 1)
  • Silver Medal Honors: Ali Almousawi (Anatomy and Cell Biology - undergraduate)
  • Honorable Mention: Annette Diaz (Medicine - undergraduate)
  • Honorable Mention: Josh Pasaye (Psychiatry – Research Associate 1)
  • Honorable Mention: Anniek van Aarem (Pediatrics - undergraduate)