Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

College of Medicine Honors Grads at 142nd Commencement

The University of Illinois College of Medicine celebrated its 142nd commencement on Friday, May 3, 2024, at Credit Union 1 Arena.

The ceremony honored graduating students from its various degree programs, with 267 receiving their MD degree, constituting one of the largest graduating medical school classes in the United States. The Class of 2024 includes 155 who have completed the MD degree in Chicago, 60 in Peoria, and 52 in Rockford.

livestream recording is available for those unable to attend or who wish to re-watch the ceremony.

These new physicians will continue their professional training in one of 28 medical specialties across 33 states. In addition, 109 of those who graduated will be entering their residency programs in Illinois.

The College also awarded 35 PhD degrees, and 62 master’s degrees, spanning public health, medical physiology, health professions education, physiology, patient safety leadership, and clinical translational sciences. Of the master’s degrees, 35 were earned in Chicago, 26 in Rockford, and one in Peoria.

Senior Associate Dean for Educational Affairs Raymond H. Curry, MD, FACP, once again served as grand marshal of the ceremony, with greetings from University of Illinois System Executive Vice President and Vice President for Academic Affairs Nicholas Jones, PhD, UIC Chancelor Marie Lynn Miranda, PhD, and Vice Chancellor of Health Affairs Robert Barish, MD, MBA.

“Today marks the beginning of your careers as proud alumni of the University of Illinois College of Medicine, one of the premier medical schools in the nation,” College of Medicine Executive Dean Mark I. Rosenblatt, MD, PhD, MBA, MHA, told the graduating students. “This is a special day and a proud achievement. I am confident that the foundation in science, medicine, and service to the community that you have received at this college has prepared you for your continued future achievements.

I know that each of you has worked diligently to reach this day, and you should take great satisfaction in your accomplishments.”

David J. Skorton, MD

David J. Skorton, MD, President and CEO of the Association of American Medical Colleges, served as the College of Medicine ceremony commencement speaker.

“I remember feeling both excitement and — I must admit — apprehension when I reached this milestone myself,” Dr. Skorton said. “It’s intimidating to step into the unknown. And your generation faces headwinds that mine did not, half a century ago. We need your ideas, innovation, and care. When I look out into the audience today, I am filled with optimism.”

Dr. Rosenblatt also honored the recipients of the Dean’s Distinguished Service Award (Charles Ray, MD, and Evelyn Figueroa, MD), the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Healthcare Leadership (Sarah Unterman, MD), and the Faculty of the Year Award (David Pinson, DVM, PhD). Associate Dean of Medical Education at the Chicago campus Amanda Osta, MD, recognized the 2024 Golden Apple Award recipients (Mahesh Patel, MD, Ananya Gangopadhyaya, MD, and Pavan Srivastava, MD) and the 2024 William J. Grove Outstanding Student Award (Matthew Grande, MD).

Graduating students also heard from 2014 College of Medicine graduate Garth Nyambi Walker, MD. Dr. Grande, president of the Class of 2024, provided remarks on behalf of the class.

Dr. Figueroa led graduating students in the Physician’s Pledge before Dr. Curry closed out the ceremony.